Washington Named to Doak Walker Award List

Washington Named to Doak Walker Award List

DALLAS – Texas Tech running back DeAndre Washington (Missouri City, Texas/Thurgood Marshall H.S.) was named to the preseason watch list for the prestigious Doak Walker Award, which honors the nation’s top college running back.


Texas Tech has had two previous Doak Walker Award winners: Byron Morris (1993) and Byron Hanspard (1996). The award, which will honor its 26th recipient in 2015, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students in the same classification. 


In 2014, Washington earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors after becoming just the seventh player in school history to run for over 1,000 yards and the first player at Tech since Ricky Williams in 1998 to accomplish that feat. Washington finished the year ranked among Big 12 leaders in a variety of statistical categories including yards per carry (2nd, 5.9), 100-yard rushing performances (2nd, four), rushing yardage (3rd, 1,103), rushing yards per game (3rd, 91.9) and all-purpose yards (6th, 1,431). He also caught 30 passes for 328 yards and two touchdowns. His top rushing performances came at Iowa State when he ran for 186 yards and scored a pair of touchdowns and at Kansas (164 yards).


Over his three-year, 36-game career, Washington has rushed for 1,919 yards on 372 carries and nine touchdowns. He has also caught 83 passes for 706 yards and two touchdowns. A two-time Academic All-Big 12 recipient, Washington ranks among school leaders in season rushing yards (9th, 1,103) and needs just 330 more yards to rank among the school’s all-time top-10 in career rushing yards.

Powered by Frankly